Skip to content
SearchLocal help →

People and living standards: Southampton

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Southampton council area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 204,752 in 1991 to 259,230 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Southampton council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 212,924 people in 1996; 259,230 people in 2025. 21.7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Southampton council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991204,752
1992205,428
1993206,489
1994209,126
1995211,178
1996212,924
1997213,689
1998215,530
1999216,057
2000217,273
2001219,539
2002220,459
2003221,989
2004223,589
2005226,655
2006226,698
2007227,223
2008228,447
2009230,017
2010233,085
2011235,870
2012238,097
2013239,484
2014241,230
2015244,666
2016248,662
2017250,492
2018250,803
2019249,428
2020248,679
2021247,672
2022252,949
2023258,617
2024260,604
2025259,230
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Southampton council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 42,238 people in 1996; 42,986 people in 2025. 1.8% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Southampton council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199140,096
199240,623
199341,223
199441,975
199542,270
199642,238
199742,094
199842,020
199941,192
200040,605
200139,784
200239,071
200338,612
200438,106
200538,050
200638,039
200738,408
200839,058
200939,728
201040,448
201141,440
201241,936
201342,500
201443,008
201543,555
201644,171
201744,678
201844,938
201944,967
202044,925
202144,503
202244,530
202344,576
202444,095
202542,986
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Southampton council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 137,617 people in 1996; 180,053 people in 2025. 30.8% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Southampton council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991131,956
1992132,002
1993132,384
1994134,148
1995135,875
1996137,617
1997138,586
1998140,590
1999142,535
2000144,771
2001148,044
2002149,983
2003152,322
2004154,719
2005158,092
2006158,520
2007158,658
2008159,188
2009159,975
2010162,041
2011163,486
2012164,461
2013164,855
2014165,687
2015168,340
2016171,423
2017172,628
2018172,357
2019170,553
2020169,717
2021168,763
2022173,731
2023178,822
2024180,785
2025180,053
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Southampton council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 33,069 people in 1996; 36,191 people in 2025. 9.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Southampton council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199132,700
199232,803
199332,882
199433,003
199533,033
199633,069
199733,009
199832,920
199932,330
200031,897
200131,711
200231,405
200331,055
200430,764
200530,513
200630,139
200730,157
200830,201
200930,314
201030,596
201130,944
201231,700
201332,129
201432,535
201532,771
201633,068
201733,186
201833,508
201933,908
202034,037
202134,406
202234,688
202335,219
202435,724
202536,191
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 248,920 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Southampton · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh26,41410.6%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African7,5393%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups8,3093.3%
White200,82980.7%
Other ethnic group5,8292.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 236,882 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Southampton · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White203,52885.9%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups5,6782.4%
Asian/Asian British19,8928.4%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British5,0672.1%
Other ethnic group2,7171.1%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 217,445 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Southampton · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White200,85992.4%
Mixed3,2671.5%
Asian/Asian British8,2543.8%
Black/Black British2,2451%
Chinese/Other2,8201.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 19.6% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Southampton council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £9,682 per person in 1997; £20,886 per person in 2024. 115.7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Southampton council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19979,682
19989,551
19999,707
200010,258
200110,570
200210,917
200311,122
200411,520
200511,655
200612,213
200712,977
200813,165
200913,570
201013,505
201113,656
201213,936
201314,296
201414,687
201515,223
201615,788
201716,395
201816,938
201917,668
202017,623
202118,160
202218,874
202319,703
202420,886
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Southampton council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -8.7% in 1997; -19.6% in 2024. 10.9 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Southampton council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-8.7
1998-11.8
1999-14.2
2000-13.8
2001-14.6
2002-13.7
2003-14.7
2004-15.1
2005-17.1
2006-16.6
2007-15.4
2008-16.4
2009-15.3
2010-16.4
2011-16.2
2012-17.5
2013-18.4
2014-18.8
2015-20
2016-18
2017-16.8
2018-17
2019-16.1
2020-16
2021-16.9
2022-17.8
2023-19.4
2024-19.6
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

57.9%

21 March 2021 · Southampton council area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

20.3%

21 March 2021 · Southampton council area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

17.3%

21 March 2021 · Southampton council area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

5%

21 March 2021 · Southampton council area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£236,000

July 2026 · Southampton council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£1,257

August 2026 · Southampton council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.